A tongue dipped in ink: the muse alights!

Standard

Yeah it’s been a while, I know. But I’m not going to give you a single excuse or apology. I’ve been busy, out there in the trenches, living the good life as best as I can.

But every once in a while, the writing muse descends upon me in a way too serendipitous and obvious to ignore. Last night the window opened and in she came, and in the place of my usually neurotic thoughts that circle before going to bed, there was a poem. And when I woke up this morning, there was another. And when these things happen, they should, in my opinion, be shared rather than hoarded or squandered. So here is a little gift from the universe to me to you…

 

THE EAGLE

I always imagined the eagle as a sharp pointed thing

of beak and talon, a ruthless hunter with eyes that show

not softness or remorse, only the golden thrill of attack.

 

In zoo’s cages where we get the closest peek,

the impotence of capture steals his flame; a broken

wing, a dulling beak, and no sign of freedom’s wing.

 

In the wild, not meant to be seen, except by chance’s

lucky strike, the eagle soars and dips and dives

to his own whims, devours the fish, does as he likes.

 

In spacious nest he guards his most beloved, watches

sky and earth for danger nearing, his fuzzy children

thrive under his gaze, their futures bright as golden eye.

 

And yet this day I see him in the sky, neither hunting

or with purpose or direction. He dives up high then spreads

his wings and spirals low as if amusement were his guide.

 

I watch in awe as I wonder, why this majestic beast

would choose to glide instead of pump against the tide

of wind, away from concrete highway, back towards sky.

 

And then he opens wings and holds his place, beak

firmly pointed towards the wind; going nowhere, held

in space, and then in pause I take a deep breath in.

 

The message he conveys is no mistake, the world

widens as I take it in, for freedom comes not only

from the fight, but also from surrender, giving in.

 

IN WHAT WAYS, MY FRIENDS, DO YOUR IDEAS ABOUT FREEDOM AND FIERCENESS, ACTION AND SURRENDER, MOVE YOU TOWARDS YOUR WILDEST, HAPPIEST, FREE-EST, MOST FULFILLING LIFE, AND IN WHAT WAYS DO THESE HABITS OF THOUGHT, CONDITIONINGS, CULTURAL IDEAS HOLD YOU BACK?

HERE’S TO FREEDOM!

OM. AMEN. HALLELUJAH!

 

American_Bald_Eagle_in_Flight

About durgamama

I am a human. A woman. A daughter. A wife. A mother. A sister. A friend. A yoga loving living artist with a omnidirectional force of creativity that spans from singing with my husband, to baking delicious gluten free concoctions, to facilitating healing and relaxation as a massage therapist, to reminding people of the gorgeous temples they all live in (their bodies) by practicing yoga with them, to writing poetry, to helping promote and support local music and worthy products and events as a publicist, to mind-blowingly personalized and perfect floral creations for weddings and events, to coloring and wrestling with my kids, with my nieces and nephews, with my friends' kids, with any kids I can find who will hang out with me. Om, Amen, and Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

