Make you feel my love

Standard

I’m on day 6 of Bhakti sadhana, and part of the process can involve choosing a sacred text of some kind to read. I am reading “Autobiography of a Yogi” by Paramahansa Yogananda. Boy do I love it! Here’s a few of the great quotes so far:

“Bricks and mortar sing us no audible tune; the heart opens only to the human chant of being.” 

A poem in the book, by Mirabai: 

“If by bathing daily God could be realized,

Sooner would I be a whale in the deep;

If by eating roots and fruits He could be known

Gladly would I choose the form of a goat;

If the counting of rosaries uncovered him

I would say my prayers on mammoth beads;

If bowing before stone images unveiled Him

A flinty mountain I would humbly worship;

If by drinking milk the Lord could be imbibed

Many calves and children would know Him;

If abandoning one’s wife could summon God

Would not thousands be eunuchs?

Mirabai knows that to find the Divine One

The only indispensable is Love.

…And I’m thinking about love. No, I’m feeling love. Thinking and feeling are two completely different things, and frankly I’m tired of living in my head. The only indispensable is LOVE. Thinking about om, and how in the mantra om, not only do we reach out to the divine, but the divine answers back, in the same moment. See there is no separation, there is no this and that, no give and take. Love is flowing in all directions in all moments. Listen and you will hear it. Stop thinking and you will feel it. What is the chant of YOUR being? Where, and how are you feeling love RIGHT NOW? Listen. It’s calling for you!

Om. Amen. Hallelujah!

check it in musical serenade, Adele-style: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZXjqwOxH4g&feature=related

When the rain
Is blowing in your face
And the whole world
Is on your case
I could offer you
A warm embrace
To make you feel my loveWhen the evening shadows
And the stars appear
And there is no – one there
To dry your tears
I could hold you
For a million years
To make you feel my love

I know you
Haven’t made

Your mind up yet
But I would never
Do you wrong
I’ve known it
From the moment
That we met
No doubt in my mind
Where you belong

I’d go hungry
I’d go black and blue
I’d go crawling
Down the avenue
Know there’s nothing

That I wouldn’t do
To make you feel my loveThe storms are raging
On the rolling sea
And on the highway of regret
The winds of change
Are blowing wild and free
You ain’t seen nothing
Like me yet

I could make you happy
Make your dreams come true
Nothing that I wouldn’t do
Go to the ends
Of the Earth for you
To make you feel my love, To make you feel my love

(thanks Bob Dylan…)

About durgamama

I am a human. A woman. A daughter. A wife. A mother. A sister. A friend. A yoga loving living artist with a omnidirectional force of creativity that spans from singing with my husband, to baking delicious gluten free concoctions, to facilitating healing and relaxation as a massage therapist, to reminding people of the gorgeous temples they all live in (their bodies) by practicing yoga with them, to writing poetry, to helping promote and support local music and worthy products and events as a publicist, to mind-blowingly personalized and perfect floral creations for weddings and events, to coloring and wrestling with my kids, with my nieces and nephews, with my friends' kids, with any kids I can find who will hang out with me. Om, Amen, and Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

