This is the day

This is the day, this is the day, that the lord has made, that the lord has made

We will rejoice, we will rejoice and be glad in it, and be glad in it

This is the day that the Lord has made.

We will rejoice and be glad in it.

Oh this is the day, this is the day, that the Lord has made.

I was out walking my dog Emma this morning, and this song just started playing in my mind, and then I started singing it. Sunday mornings have always felt sacred to me. When I was young, and my family went to church, there was always the stress and rush of getting ready on Sunday mornings to get to church on time, or close to on time. And no matter how stressful that getting ready time was, once we got in that church, everything stressful slipped away, and there was inevitable joy.

I loved singing at church. My dad played the guitar with the little church band, and it just felt like there was nothing better to be doing on a Sunday morning than singing and clapping. I guess I didn’t know then, that I was already a bhakti-dasi, a lover of the divine, in the practice of devotion, my heart open sending my love of the one right up and out through my voice.

Hanuman is considered the supreme embodiment of love and devotion. In fact, his love for the divine is so pure and full and joyous, that the physical space of his heart is not large enough to hold the love, and it pains him. To create more space, he tears his heart open. He is known for having speech that is an integration of his heart, mind and soul, a tone of voice that is always soothing, and the ability to act and give selflessly in every moment. Rather than join his king, he chooses to stay on earth and serve the world.

Everyone has their own path to the one. Many of us have been through experiences in the faith of our ancestors that have left us confused, disjointed, alone. But no matter where we are on our journey towards the one, I think we all know the joy that comes from music, and the way it transports us to someplace else, a different resonance with humanity, with the earth, with ourselves and our beloveds.

If you’re happy and you know it clap your hands (super fun video… watch it!)

I’ve got that joy joy joy joy down in my heart (click to listen!)

Joy to the world, all the boys and girls now, joy to the fishies in the deep blue sea, joy to you and me

What are the songs that bring you an immediate sense of joy? …of child like wonder for the sun rising, the blue sky, a happy dog wagging it’s tail? It doesn’t matter how small your voice is, how perfect your melody, just open your mouth, and let it rise.

May we all overcome the obstacles that keep us from feeling the ever present embrace of the one. May we lift our hearts and our voices, in joy, to the gift we have been given, the gift of being human, the gift of getting to wake up every day to the wonder of this world!

Om. Amen. Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

