Are you ready for the light?

Boy do I feel like we have a lot to catch up on! To be honest, I’ve been in my cave. In a good way though! I don’t know if anyone else out there is really feeling the call to get their stuff in order, before the new year (…anyone?).

Here are some of my goals:

1. Spend less time on my computer (facebook, internet window shopping, etc.)

2. Purchase as little pre-packaged/pre-prepared food as possible (I’ve been baking and cooking like a fiend! Will do a food-centered post in the next day or two!)

3. Pay attention to the practical daily side of life (laundry, dishes, sweeping dog hair, picking up toys…)

4. Become a conscious consumer (goodbye lululemon… hello GGO! www.ggoclothing.com! hello BEYOND YOGA! www.beyondyoga.com …I am going to do a yoga clothes review soon I promise!!)

THEORY: We are in the darkest days of the year, nearing the very darkest day on December 22. It feels like a time to go inward, to do some good old fashioned house-keeping, to prepare for the light that is coming. The LIGHT is coming!

” As far as we can discern, the sole purpose of human existence is to kindle a light in the darkness of mere being”

-Carl Jung

There have been so many days lately I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed with the darkness in the world. Crazy stories in the news (Bikram’s suing frenzy, Lululemon’s sketchy business practices, and all the violence, the crazy political drama, etc), sad misconceptions about yoga printed in the local paper, the strange stress of the holidays, someone stealing my new yoga pants…

Who wouldn’t want to climb in a hole for the winter?

But my friends, the light is coming! I was reading about Hanukkah today, and the story that inspired the menorah is so lovely. After the Jews defeated the Greeks, in the 150BC’s, they reclaimed their temple, and were determined to purify it from the defilement of the Greeks, by lighting the menorah for 8 days. However, they could only find enough holy oil to light the lamp for one day. They lit it anyway, and the lamp stayed lit for 8 days.

These miracle stories are the stories that give us faith, that bring us light, aren’t they?

“For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given… he shall be called wonderful, counselor, the prince of peace…” Isaiah 9:6

And for your auditory pleasure, a little Handel: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VynBiI9M30

So this little baby was born, in a stable, to an unwed mother, and a confused, but devoted father. They say she was a virgin, they say he came to rid the world of sin. They say he died on a cross, and three days later, rose from death, and ascended to heaven. That’s some magical stuff there. Even if you don’t practice Christianity as your spiritual path, you have to admit, it’s a pretty cool story. And then there’s all the neat stuff that Jesus did while he was actually walking the earth as a human. For me, I find his actions and words even more inspiring and magical than what they say about him.

“If you bring forth that which is within in you, then that which is within you will be your salvation. If you do not bring forth that which is within you, then that which is within you will destroy you.” -From the Gospel of Thomas

And then I got some yoga-tea fortune that said something to the affect that darkness only creates more darkness; only light can wash away darkness. So I’m choosing light my friends. I am choosing to focus on the beauty of humanity. To release my anxieties, and anxiety-inducing behaviors. I am hugging and kissing my loved ones repeatedly, (including myself!), I am smiling at strangers, and loving even the darkness that desires to be acknowledged too! But I want to be a light. I am a light. And so are you!  Why don’t you join me, for the next few weeks, on a light quest? Take the time you need to quietly reflect, and then shine!

BE INSPIRED! BE INSPIRATIONAL!

Om! Amen! Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

