Shadow boxing: from Fiona Apple to Vajrasattva

Standard
Shadow boxing: from Fiona Apple to Vajrasattva

“Vajrasattva-the Diamond, or Adamantine, Being– is the main deity employed for purification… The techniques of transformation will not be able to produce profound results as long as our present body, speech and mind remain contaminated by the impurities accumulated from our past unwholesome physical, verbal and mental actions… we must not only avoid such unskillful and destructive activities now and in the future, but we must cleanse ourselves of those negative imprints still with us from the past…”

-Images of Enlightenment, Tibetan Art in Practice By Jonathan Landaw, Andy Weber

It might be fun to start with our song of the day, Shadow Boxer, by Fiona Apple. Here’s a link to it, you could play it as background music while you read this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnXjISlKLuE

I woke up with this song in my head, and it dawned on me, how the song relates to my post from yesterday, reconciling the differences, swinging at shadows, not sure when or where that shadow energy is going to rear it’s head. And then what comes next? Something practical to actually learn how to dance with the shadow, instead of fighting it, or running and hiding from it.

I did an awesome ayurvedic detox this fall, thanks to Yoga Journal magazine (www.yogajournal.com). Scott Blossom (http://www.shunyatayoga.com/), is an amazing shadow yoga teacher, Ayurvedic Consultant, and Traditional Chinese Medical Practitioner. He anchored this fall detox, which includes a dietary cleanse (will blog on that tomorrow!), daily yoga practices (offered from amazing yoga teachers Sianna Sherman and Janet Stone), and daily meditations offered by Scott’s partner, Chandra Easton, who has a strong background in Tibetan Buddhist meditation and philosophy. One of the two meditations offered, is a vajrasattva meditation. In this meditation, you connect to your adamantine, or diamond like, nature of mind, to purify yourself from illness in the body, negativity in the mind, and past actions that have caused the accumulation of karmic debts. Give yourself the most amazing gift ever, and take 20 minutes to listen to this amazing meditation, it’s the 2nd, of the 2 offered: http://falldetox.yogajournal.com/detox/audio. And if you want to give yourself an even BIGGER gift, make a date with yourself, every day, for a week, or a month, and sit and practice this meditation. It will change your life. Promise. If any of my deaf friends out there are interested in having me caption this meditation, I’d be happy to paraphrase it for your meditative enjoyment, just reply below with your email address!

May we all be healed with the adamantine light of the indestructible nature of mind. May we be purified from all our regrets and illnesses, injuries, and karmic debts. May we be filled with an radiant light, that shines from our hearts, and sends healing and hope to all beings in the world. May we all learn to dance with the shadow, as a lover and teacher. Om. Amen. Hallelujah!

Once my lover, now my friend. What a cruel thing to pretend. What a cunning way to condescend. Once my lover, and now my friend. Oh you creep up like the clouds. And you set my soul at ease. Then you let your love abound. And you bring me to my knees. Oh, it’s evil, babe. The way you let your grace enrapture me. When well you know I’d be insane. To ever let that dirty game recapture me.

You made me a shadowboxer, baby. I wanna be ready for what you do. And I been swinging all around me, ’cause I don’t know when you’re gonna make you’re move.

Oh your gaze is dangerous, and you fill your space so sweet. If I let you get too close. You’ll set your spell on me. So darling, I just wanna say. Just in case I don’t come through, I was on to every play, I just wanted you. Oh, it’s so evil, my love. The way you’ve no reverence to my concern. So I’ll be sure to stay weary of you, love. To save the pain of once my flame, and twice my burn.

And so I’m a shadowboxer, baby. I wanna be ready for what you do. And I been swinging all around at nothing I don’t know when you’re gonna make your move.

-Fiona Apple, Shadowboxer 

 


About durgamama

I am a human. A woman. A daughter. A wife. A mother. A sister. A friend. A yoga loving living artist with a omnidirectional force of creativity that spans from singing with my husband, to baking delicious gluten free concoctions, to facilitating healing and relaxation as a massage therapist, to reminding people of the gorgeous temples they all live in (their bodies) by practicing yoga with them, to writing poetry, to helping promote and support local music and worthy products and events as a publicist, to mind-blowingly personalized and perfect floral creations for weddings and events, to coloring and wrestling with my kids, with my nieces and nephews, with my friends' kids, with any kids I can find who will hang out with me. Om, Amen, and Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

